My Newest Obsession :)

The Hunger Games  is a trilogy of books by Suzanne Collins. For those of you not in the know, it’s set in a post-apocalyptic future where the Capitol selects a boy and girl (ages 12-18) from the twelve districts to fight to the death on live television. Katniss Everdeen (the main character) volunteers to take her younger sister’s place for the latest Games. The story follows Katniss’ fight for survival in the Games.

The first book in the trilogy, aptly named The Hunger Games, was released in 2008 but hasn’t become popular until recently. With the Harry Potter franchise at an end and The Twilight Saga coming to a close this year, people have been searching for “the next big thing,” myself included.

Now, when my friend first brought me the books and told me to read them, I was a little apprehensive. It was so outside of the books that I normally read. But from the moment I started reading, I was hooked! It was sooo good! I then finished reading all 3 books in 4 days, keeping in mind that this was during my band camp where I was busy playing my instrument from 8am-10pm. I didn’t get lots of sleep that week…lolz!

Well, I’m in love! And this year (March 23rd) is when the first movie comes out! I’m super excited about it! I even got a Hunger Games calender for Christmas! I’ve been so obsessed with this that I even bought a magazine (and I don’t normally buy magazines) dedicated to the Hunger Games movie!

*sigh* I wish it came to theaters tomorrow…lolz

Oh yeah, I don’t even remember how I found this, but I found a person who is doing a Sims 2 version of the books. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

