Homemade Christmas Gifts!!!!

So I finally finished all my family’s Christmas gifts! I really wanted to make some homemade kind of things this year, and trust me, it was much cheaper then buying clothes or toys or things like that. And it also relieved lots of stress from finals! anyways…here are the pictures! I hope you like them just as much as i do!

My Dad’s:

His name is Jim, hence the J in the frame. And a ribbon-wrapped candy jar filled with his favorite candy.

My Mom’s:

Some of her favorite sayings made into a decorative art piece.

My Sister’s:

One of my favorites! A flower made from paint chips that you can get from any home improvement store or Wal-mart.

My Brother’s:

Somewhat the same as my dad’s but instead of a glass candy jar, I used cans of fruit from the grocery store with the pop top. open them from the bottom, eat what’s inside, fill with desired candy, then glue the bottom back on! super creative and fun!

My other Sister’s:

a custom “white” board. Another one of my favorites.

I had so much fun making these! even though my fingers took quite a beating, it was totally worth it! So excited to see what my family thinks of them!

If you want any detailed directions on how to make something, let me know!

12 responses

    • Here are the steps that I used:
      1. I got a bunch of paint chips that you can get at a local hardware store like Lowe’s.
      2. I made a heart-shaped stencil and traced that on the back of the paint chips, then cut them out.
      3. I taped the hearts together in the rainbow pattern that you see above. You can arrange the colors in anyway that you want, though. You could do smaller flowers of all different shades of one color. That looks cool too.
      4. I glued a large button on the the center
      5. On the picture frame backing I glued on some scrapbook paper to add some color to the background.
      6. I then glued some ribbon onto the frame back. This part is totally optional. Although it did help for centering the flower when I was gluing that on.
      7. I glued the flower onto the frame backing. If you don’t have a square frame, you may need to cut down part of the flower so that it fits into the frame.

      If you have anymore questions, just ask! I’ll be happy to help ask much as I can! Good luck and happy crafting!

  1. Pingback: Change in priorities | mojo's lair

    • Here are the steps that I used:
      1. I got a bunch of paint chips that you can get at a local hardware store like Lowe’s.
      2. I made a heart-shaped stencil and traced that on the back of the paint chips, then cut them out.
      3. I taped the hearts together in the rainbow pattern that you see above. You can arrange the colors in anyway that you want, though. You could do smaller flowers of all different shades of one color. That looks cool too.
      4. I glued a large button on the the center
      5. On the picture frame backing I glued on some scrapbook paper to add some color to the background.
      6. I then glued some ribbon onto the frame back. This part is totally optional. Although it did help for centering the flower when I was gluing that on.
      7. I glued the flower onto the frame backing. If you don’t have a square frame, you may need to cut down part of the flower so that it fits into the frame.

      If you have anymore questions, just ask! I’ll be happy to help ask much as I can! Good luck and happy crafting!

      • Also, can you tell me approximately how many paint chips you used and how big the flower came out to be in reality? I love the idea and I’m hoping to make it for a space in our home!

      • The number of paint chips depends on how large you want your flower. I don’t quite remember how many I used. I want to say between 30-40. But I didn’t use all the hearts that had cut out. The picture frame was an 11″ by 14″. So the flower was able to fit into that.

        Another idea is making solid color flowers and put each in a different frame and use those as decor.

  2. Pingback: Art Ideas For Home Decor | Home Decorium

  3. Pingback: Do It Yourself Wall Art Ideas | Home Decorium

Leave a Reply

